Entry list, live stream, schedule
Islip 300 at Riverhead Raceway

(Photo: Mike Lawrence/NASCAR)

Some of the best Modified drivers in the Northeast will converge on New York’s Riverhead Raceway this Saturday afternoon for the sixth edition of the Islip 300.

Honoring the history of the now-defunct Islip Speedway in nearby Islip, New York, the 300-lap event for Modifieds requires determination and patience for those hoping to collect the $7,000 first-place prize.

RELATED: Watch Saturday’s Islip 300 live on FloRacing

While only in its sixth running, the Islip 300 has quickly become a marquee event for Modified competitors, and it annually draws one of the strongest entry fields of the season for the popular track located on Long Island that features NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series racing during the summer months.

In addition to the headlining Modified class, Crate Modifieds and Legend Cars will also be on the docket Saturday afternoon, with more than 100 cars in total expected to take part in the event. The event also serves as the finale of the track’s Crown Jewel Series, which will award the Ted Christopher Cup at the conclusion of Saturday’s Modified main event.

Below is everything you need to know about the 2022 Islip 300 at Riverhead Raceway.

Riverhead Raceway
An overall view of practice during the Buzz Chew Chevrolet Cadillac 200 for the Whelen Modified Tour at Riverhead Raceway on June 25, 2022 in Riverhead, New York. (Kostas Lymperopoulos/NASCAR)

What TV channel is the Islip 300 at Riverhead Raceway on?

All of the on-track action for the Islip 300 at Riverhead Raceway can be viewed live on FloRacing, the official streaming home for all NASCAR Roots properties.

The racing action will not be shown on a television network.

Below is the complete schedule for FloRacing’s coverage of the Islip 300.

Date Start time How to watch
Saturday, Nov. 12, 2022 Noon ET FloRacing

Complete schedule for the Islip 300

This year’s Islip 300 is scheduled to take place Saturday, Nov. 12.

Four divisions of race cars will take part in Saturday’s event at Riverhead, including Modifieds, Crate Modifieds and Legend Cars. The event will be headlined by a 300-lap event for the Modified class.

Below is the complete race-day schedule at Riverhead Raceway.

Time  Event
7:30 a.m. Pit Gates Open/Tire Draw Opens
9 a.m. Modified Drivers Meeting
10 a.m. General Admission Opens
9:45 – 10:15 a.m. Legend Car Practice
10:15 – 11 a.m. Modified Practice
11 – 11:30 a.m. Crate Modified Practice
11:30 a.m. Vintage All Stars Expo
Noon Modified Qualifying
Followed by… Crate Modified & Legend Car Heat Races
Followed by… Consolation Races (All Divisions If Applicable)
Followed by… Opening Ceremonies/National Anthem
Followed by… Legend Car Feature (40 Laps)
Followed by… Crate Modified Feature (50 Laps)
Followed by… Islip 300 for Modifieds (300 Laps)

Official format for the Islip 300

The starting field for the Islip 300 will be set by a combination of qualifying and, potentially, a consolation race depending upon how many Modifieds are entered. The top 23 drivers in qualifying will lock into the 25-car field, with one driver locking into the race via the consolation race.

The final starting position will be awarded to the highest driver in Riverhead Raceway weekly points who is not yet qualified for the race.

The Islip 300 will not feature stage breaks, but instead the caution flag will wave anytime 75 consecutive green flag laps are completed. Caution laps will count until Lap 275, with the final 25 laps to be run under green flag conditions only.

Islip 300 entry list

The entry list for Saturday’s Islip 300 features some of the top Modified stars from the Northeast.

Headlining the list of pre-entries is J.B. Fortin, the defending winner of the Islip 300. He’s one of three Islip 300 winners on the entry list, with 2018 race winner and 2022 Riverhead Modified champion Kyle Soper and inaugural event winner Dillon Steuer also entered.

Tommy Baldwin Racing, the team that recently claimed the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour owners’ championship, will be in the field with Jimmy Blewett scheduled to pilot the team’s No. 7 entry.

Keith Rocco, who won the 2010 NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series national championship, will join the field for the Islip 300 alongside Mike Christopher Jr., who won his first NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event earlier this year at Jennerstown Speedway.

Other notable entries include Matt Hirschman, Craig Lutz, Chuck Hossfeld, Anthony Nocella, Kyle Bonsignore, Timmy Solomito and Dave Sapienza.

Car No. Driver
01 Artie Pedersen III
02 Allan Pedersen
07 Kyle Bonsignore
2 Joseph Bertuccio
5 John Beatty
7 Jimmy Blewett
10 Dylan Slepian
11 Dillon Steuer
12 Matt Hirschman
14 Cory Osland
15 Kyle Soper
21 Chuck Hossfeld
24 Justin Brown
24 Andrew Krause
34 J.B. Fortin
36 Dave Sapienza
45 Jack Handley Jr.
45 Brett Meservey
46 Jeffrey Goodale
50 Anthony Bello
57 Keith Rocco
66 Timmy Solomito
69 Jason Agugliaro
70 Mike Christopher Jr.
73 Paul Hartwig Jr.
78 Walter Sutcliffe Jr.
78 Ken Heagy
80 Michael Rutkoski
81 Christopher Turbush
82 Craig Lutz
88 Roger Turbush
92 Anthony Nocella
96 Matthew Brode
Riverhead Raceway
Cars drive past the Riverhead Raceway frontstretch wall during the Eddie Partridge 256 for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour at Riverhead Raceway on September 17, 2022. (Photo: Mike Lawrence/NASCAR)

Islip 300 history, winners

Created by late Riverhead Raceway owner Eddie Partridge in 2007, the Islip 300 has quickly become a signature Modified event for competitors in the Northeast.

The race also shares the name of a NASCAR Cup Series event that took place at New York’s Islip Speedway in the 1960s and early 1970s. The event honors the history of Islip Speedway, which closed in 1984, with race winners typically posing with an Islip Speedway Feature Winner board in Victory Lane.

The inaugural event produced a surprise winner, with then 15-year-old Dillon Steuer scoring a shocking victory in the 300-lap event.

Ryan Preece, a winner in the NASCAR Xfinity Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, is the lone multi-time winner of the Islip 300. He won the 2018 running of the event and collected his second Islip 300 win in 2020.

Kyle Soper, who recently claimed his fourth Modified track championship at Riverhead in the last five years, won the Islip 300 in 2019 and J.B. Fortin bagged the top prize in 2021.

Below is the complete list of winners of the Islip 300.

Year Winner
2017 Dillon Steuer
2018 Ryan Preece
2019 Kyle Soper
2020 Ryan Preece
2021 J.B. Fortin